Thursday, 18 May 2017

#DoyouwannaSankeys Campaign Kicks Off

Following the sudden closure of Sankeys Manchester last week, the club has bounced back by partnering with the Night Time Industries Association (NTIA) to launch the #DoyouwannaSankeys campaign: a social media initiative that could see new branches of the club opening across the UK.

This is a positive development after the “particularly bitter” sudden closing of the Manchester stalwart last week, who had been planning “pop-up” parties and events to honour existing bookings. The legendary club was forced to close its doors after the Beehive Mill, the building which housed Sankeys since 1994, was sold to a commercial property developer.

For more information, check out the promotional video below.
Read More

Soma Celebrates 25 Years With Anniversary Release

Record label Soma have announced the upcoming release of Soma25, a 5X12”box set featuring 15 exclusive tracks and remixes. The anniversary album will drop on March 31st.

The Glaswegian company will bring together an impressive array of talent on the record, including Robert Hood, Jeff Mills, Daft Punk, Adam Beyer, Blawan, The Woodleigh Research Facility, Josh Wink, Jonas Kopp, Kobosil, Percy X, Vril, Steve Bicknell, Funk D'Void, Joe Stawarz, Deepchord and the founders of the company, electro duo Slam.

A tantalising teaser video for Soma25 has also been released, which you can watch below.

Read More

Warp Records To Release 2nd Shobaleader One Album

Warp Records have announced the upcoming release of another album from Shobaleader One, electro-visionary Squarepusher’s 4-piece band. Elektrak will feature live versions of 11 “Squarepusher classics”, and is due out on the 10th of March.

Squarepusher has put out more than a dozen records with Warp, most recently 2015’s Damogen Furies, an album that encompassed “nightmarish drill ‘n bass and the early work of electric jazz pioneers.”

Known for their high-energy and aurally engrossing performances, Elektrak faithfully captures the chemistry and passion of a Shobaleader One live show.


Full tracklist for Shobaleader One’s Elektrak

01. The Swifty
02. Coopers World
03. Don't Go Plastic
04. Iambic 5 Poetry
05. Squarepusher Theme
06. E8 Boogie
07. Deep Fried Pizza
08. Megazine
09. Delta-V
10. Anstromm Feck 4
11. Journey To Reedham
Read More

NEWS: Billboard Makes Predictions for 2017’s Music Trends

Music magazine Billboard has dusted off the crystal ball and given its predictions for the year ahead in music.

According to the publication - who sifted through sales data to discover meaningful trends in consumption over the last two years - we can look forward to a year filled with big releases from established stars, as well as an ever-increasing amount of breakout tracks and ‘viral smashes’ from independent artists.

With new albums from Taylor Swift, Katy Perry and Kesha set to land this year, Billboard expects 2017 to be a good year for female recording artists - as well as for hip hop, as the race to “mint a new rap royalty” heats up.

The magazine also predicts that the inauguration of Donald Trump may provide sufficient fuel for a year dominated by protest songs, and tips dance duo The Chainsmokers for a big year in 2017.

Finally, the magazine asserts that streaming will continue to become the music industry’s primary mode of consumption (streaming accounted for over 50% of album consumption in 2016), with some potentially interesting competition brewing between the likes of Apple Music, Spotify and Amazon Music Unlimited.
Read More